Technical Board on Reactor Safety (TBRS) with EEG

The Technical Board on Reactor Safety

The Technical Board on Reactor Safety (TBRS) performs a technical programme quality review function within ETSON and provides scientific assistance to the decision making process of the ETSON Board and General Assembly.


The 14 topical ETSON Expert Groups (EEG) were installed to foster coorperation

In order to intensify the technical and scientific dialogue between the ETSON partner organizations and to organize joint projects ETSON installed 14 topical expert groups in the main fields of competence. The groups should in particular exchange information on analyses and R&D the different safety practices and make to harmonise them as far as practicable. Also draft a technical annex for the networks’ Safety Assessment Guide and contribute to the definition of nuclear safety research programmes in defining future research needs.

EG1: OEF, including Incident and Precursor Analysis (IRSN)

EG2: Mechanical Systems (GRS)

EG3: External Hazards (man-made and natural hazards) (SSTC NRS)

EG4: Severe Accidents (IRSN)

EG5: Environmental qualification (IRSN)

EG6: Safety Fluid Systems, including auxiliary systems (IRSN)

EG7: Human and Organizational Factors (Bel V)

EG8: Probabilistic Safety Assessment PSA (GRS)

EG9: Lifetime-Management (Ageing Management) (BEL V)

EG10: Thermal Hydraulic Analyses (Transients, Accidents) (GRS)

EG11: Safety concepts, Defence-in-Depth (no leader at that time, 10/2018)

EG12: Fuel behavior in normal and accidental conditions (IRSN)

EG13: Post-Fukushima analyses, emergency prepardness and response (IRSN)

EG14: Waste Management and Decommissioning (IRSN)